To see all content you need to log in or Subscribe now 



Key points

  • The Bribery Act 2010 came into force in the UK on 1 July 2011
  • There are four recognised offences under the Act:
    • Bribing another person.
    • Being bribed.
    • Bribing a foreign public official.
    • Failure to prevent bribery.
  • 'Failure to prevent bribery' is also known as the 'corporate offence'
  • If the corporate offence is committed it is possible to put forward a defence to prosecution
  • The defence to the corporate offence is based on six guiding principles which are: proportionate procedures, top level commitment, risk assessment, due diligence, communication and monitoring and review.